Security Check For Common Chemical And Natural Compounds

Hey guys,

a recent post about urushi laquer and it's toxic side effects brought me to this post that shall give you important information about common health risks at nihonto related works and will be continously edited by Brian and me. Right away, I will not have mentioned everything at a time, so please post comments, ask questions so that I can work and extend this list. Also, please do not understand me as Upper pedantic in anyway, I just want to give a wide range of informations and I know that a lot of things seem trivial to many of you, btw. it's kind of the introduction pharmacy freshlings get :laughing: .

To my person, I'm a pharmacist that of course has a lot to do with toxicology, pharmacology, casual lab work and risk management. Therefore I will try to give the points with the best of conscience and knowledge but please do not rely only on this list, I won't guarantee for anything. So let's start with some basic stuff.

Rule 1: You know what it is, but not what it does? MSDS-> Material Safety Data Sheet: A sheet with easy and clear description about risks and prevention of those.
e.g. you have ferric chloride, just google "ferric chloride msds" and you will find information about risks and countermeasures.

Rule 2: Never eat, chew gum, suck candy or drink with harmful substances near, especially if you work with metals or other dust producing objects.
Very small dust particels will lay on your food or hands and get a higher resorption when getting into your body mixed with food. Just make
a small break and wash your hands with soap, then you're fine to eat.

Rule 3: Never panic! You do not work with any substance here that can harm you within seconds, lay down your work safely and go clean the
affected body part. Also, be careful with your eyes, skin can regrow, but an eye is very easy to damage and can not recover! Keep
protective glasses when needed (especially with liquids of all kinds).