Umetada Tsuba

rkg

I'm still studying the piece (in among the 30 other things I've got to get done), but I thought I'd share the images since I actually took time to shoot one of my own before a catalog deadline...

Best,

rkg

(Richard George)

post-204-0-54688000-1503421930_thumb.jpg

post-204-0-35667500-1503421967_thumb.jpg

• Like 4

What can you tell us about it Richard, i see Mon, but what of the design?. When i look at designs like this i see everything, from war fans to butterflies, and generally miss the point, should there be one, that is. :glee:

Lovely tsuba.

Alex,

Less than I'd like actually.  the theme is a chrysanthemum and (I think) mons at the top and bottom. The design is one apparently associated with the Umetada - here's a blerb the PO had in the box with the tsuba, though its doubtful its by the same guy :-)

post-204-0-77430600-1503501984_thumb.jpg

The execution of the design is pretty sophisticated - its not quite symmetric, which appears to be deliberate to make for more visual motion - and I think what the maker did around where the kozuka/kogai hitsu would go is pretty cool as well, though who knows if it was just artistic or deliberate to allow you to use kozuka/kogai w/o having to hack on the design (or both).

I have no clue about the 4 holes, other than to note that they don't appear to be ato-bori.

The piece appears to be lacquered, with most of it still there.  The piece hasn't been screwed with, and from the crud in the hitsu, etc, I believe its old - like Momoyama period.  I'm still trying to figure out what the iroe is, at first glance because of the fine line width you'd think it was some kind of amalgum based fire guilding, but the surface of the iroe is really shiny - like a foil was used or something.

Now, back to work...

Best,

rkg

(Richard George)

• Like 1

Rich,