Thoughts On Tanto

Hello, I am new to the NMB and would love to hear any thoughts on this blade. It was purchased from a fellow member of NMB, and prior to that was polished by Bob Benson. The tanto was originally in a 19th century bowie mounting, but the previous owner removed it and sent it to Bob Benson for polishing. Mr. Benson thought the tanto was at least from the muromachi era. It was then sent the NBTHK and was appraised to Ikkansai Yoshihiro, a shinshinto smith. He made copies of Norishige blades, however this dating does not correlate to Mr. Bensons. I am curious on others thoughts. Here are Mr. Bensons comments. 

This tanto is very interesting in that it is in mounting that one sees on knives from the BOWIE KNIFE period.  So many blades were brought out of Japan after 1856 and used for many purposes other that being carried by Samurai. Prior to 1900 they were bought and used in America to cut sugar  cane. This piece found its way here and was converted into a knife of the period. A Bowie knife. The nakago had been cut down a bit and wood handle attached. The remaining old rust on the tang had a deep blue color suggesting that it was at least from the early Muromachi era. To eliminate the new file marks and cleaned surface the tang was re-patinated before the blade was polished. After polish it looked like it had Matsukawa hada associated with the Norishige or Ko uda school. It was submitted to shinsa where it was appraised as a NAKAYAMA IKKANSAI YOSHIHIRO, a shinshinto smith that made copies of Norishige swords. Nakayama Ikkansai Yoshihiro is a good smith. The blade should be submitted once again. Because of the wear from polishing the blade has to be an earlier period and the Bowie mounts could precede the period of Yoshihiro. Overall a historical piece and highly collectable. 

Bob
  • Like 1