Please Help W Maybe A Gunto W "grass" Script? (Stumped)

MRFORD509

I have a sword that my wife's grandma gave us with little information. Looks like a gunto to me but I'm very new at this. Tried looking up the signatures and date but obviously couldn't figure it out. There is also a note that was folded around the blade in the sheath. Had several Japanese friends try and all said it was to old or hard to read. Nice person I met on a website gave me more info and said it is a nice sword but has "grass" script signature and date and is indeed very hard to read and pointed me to this message board and said that it is full of very intelligent people that can probably figure it out. thank you in advance for any info you can give me very much appreciated. Thanks, Mark

post-4178-0-39352400-1502242683_thumb.jpg

post-4178-0-32457400-1502242740_thumb.jpg

post-4178-0-00345600-1502242786_thumb.jpg

post-4178-0-58961300-1502242822_thumb.jpg

post-4178-0-19635200-1502242882_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Thank you very much for your time I very much appreciate you guys looking at it but I am sooo newbie retarted about this stuff its not even funny, We have had it for a couple years but only recently watched a tv show about the signatures under the handle (of all places pawn stars) but dont get me wrong I am not ever selling this sword, be it very valuable or a reproduction. Its going to go down to a nephew in her family as we dont have kids. If anyone can reply in I guess beginners lingo about what ya think it is would be great or when I have time I can do more research of what everyone has helped me out w so far. Regardless im very thankful I have found this page and will continue to keep checking on it. Thank you, Mark

Mark, to sum up what our experts have said (I am not one of them) it is made in August 1944, by a smith called Yoshimori working in Hyūga.