the other two pages...

Darcy

This is now completely beyond me.

The first is the Tenran on the sayagaki. That I get.

1.jpg

The second page of the note started in the previous page is all in grass script, and I can only pick out a couple of words.

Um, make that one word, all I see in there is "katana".

The third image is the note from Honami Shobei which is from around 1720 +/- 10 years or so. This I had read to me in terms of its overall meaning, I am not sure about the actual reading and would love to establish the kanji if possible.

I think it comes last in the order of pages. It is supposed to be a polishing invoice, where the sword was first attributed to Yukimitsu and valued at 1,000 kan. It states that the sword is suriage, with a hi and is in perfect condition.

Any assistance is really appreciated. I've been asking around on these things for three years and getting information piecemeal, and due to the difficulty and not wanting to press anyone, it's been hard to try to get the big picture out of them.

This one is more clear to me, I can see it starting with "one o-suriage mumei katana" and I see Yukimitsu named in there, but the rest... I don't know how you guys do it :-).

honami-l.jpg

post-10-14196744942209_thumb.jpg

Wow, this is incredibly helpful. Thank you so much.

I translated the kanji based on your reading... one word I have trouble with is "goza", I am not sure what it is supposed to mean and it came up twice in the first translation. Here's what I have, I am not perfectly confident and think I missed some detail:

一磨上樋刀。

Hitotsu suriage hi katana

One shortened katana with hi.

研出来候上吟味御座候処二行光二も相成可申候。

Togi deki sourou ue ginmi goza sourou tokoro ni Yukimitsu ni mo ai nari beku mousu sourou.

The sword was polished, and after careful investigation (??goza??), I have the honor to pass judgment to Yukimitsu.

右之代金千貫其余も可仕候。

Migi no daikin senkan sonoyo mo beku tsukamatsuru sourou.