My God... Where Does One Even Start...?

Adversary

Greetings everyone. I should have de-lurked some time ago, but a change in fortune has kind of thrown my into a spin... so here i am.

Here's a little story hopefully someone here will read...

I've been fascinated... no, obsessed with nihonto and kenjustu forever, and with swords since i could hold a stick (lets call that mid-70's). I've wanted to buy a real katana since the day i found the internet, and realized that you could actually buy such a thing. Back then (mid-90's?) it was Bugei/Paul Chen type stuff. I saw modern Japanese smiths taking commissions back then too, but that was quite out of my league. I'm a starving artist by nature, so i've never had a lot of money, so the big purchase has been put off... and put off... and put off. All the while... i learn. Sadly, the bulk of my research has been wasted on modern katanas, as true nihonto always seemed out of my budget. 

One of my many 'day jobs' is building and dealing in muscle cars, so i know how to do my homework, and find deals. I'm inhumanly patient. Well... i just sold a car, and my (first step) dream of buying a Bugei 'Peace Sword' (about the nicest Chinese smithed katana out there) is now possible. First thing i do is look around for used examples. This leads me to a forum, where i see a guy selling a real (modern Western smith) custom. Its just a little more. Well then... he's got an even nicer one... for a few dollars more (my curse). Suddenly my sub-2K (Cdn) budget has stretched to 3K (about $2200US). Well... i cant afford this... but a stack of 100's like this doesn't come around often... so i'll happily suffer for my obsessions. I'm certain that THIS site is the ONE place where i wont be harassed for wanting to blow my food money on a sword. Heh heh...