Possible Uchigatana

East London 1+

Hi All

I recently purchased a blade that is possibly a Uchigatana.

The seller thought it may be a Mino tradition blade and i think i agree with him.

Possibly a Sukesada school smith from the Muromachi era.

Now i am still learning and studying and read a lot of books so bare with me if i am totally off course.

I know  there is nothing like handling the real thing and talking to knowledgeable people to gain experience. 

What is throwing my off slightly is the Yakidashi at the start of the Hamon.

i apologize for the not very good pictures but i was just using my phone at the time.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

As i purchase more blades and study more hopefully i will get better at Kantie.

The Blade

Sori: Torii zori  22mm

Nagasa : 546mm

Nakago: 130mm Suriage

Nakagojiri : Ha agari

Mekugi ana : 1 and 1/2

Motokasane : 7mm

Sakikasane : 4mm

Motohaba : 30mm

Sakihaba : 20mm

Kissaki : 32mm

Fukura : Rounded

Mune : iori 

Boshi : Ko Maru on one side Nie Kuzure on the other side.

Hada: Mokume

Hamon : Gunome Midare , Yakidashi at he start of the hamon, there is Masame in the Hamon

John C

post-2439-0-54887000-1492381570_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-25976800-1492381602_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-35490300-1492381626_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-95377000-1492381739_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-72128600-1492381810_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-26011300-1492381839_thumb.jpg

post-2439-0-44636400-1492381859_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Hi John

Some things to look at that might bring you closer to a conclusion.

The fact  there is masame in the shinogi-ji and yakidashi point towards it being shinto rather than earlier