Naokatsu? Can't read the rest...Please help

Leatherdog

Hello,

This is my first post here...Great site!

I've translated this mei as "Shoji Jiro Taro Fujiwara Naokatsu." I haven't had any luck on the inscription on the opposite side of the nakago. Can anyone else read it? I hope it will provide some insight as to whether the signature is genuine or suspect. I bought this sword from a militaria dealer at a gun show who made no claims about the signature, and I didn't recognize it myself until I got home and began to research the blade. I'd love to hear everyone's opinion as to whether they think it is really a Naokatsu or not. I can post additional photos and information if it'll help.

I saw the other post about Naokatsu blades, and, while very interesting, it didn't help me reach a conclusion about my sword.

Nagasa: 27.5 in

Sori: 2.1cm

Motokasane: 7mm

Sakikasane: 5mm

Motohaba: 3.2cm

Sakihaba: 2.2cm

Kissaki: 4cm

I'm a pretty low-level student, so please be patient with me if I use the wrong terminology.

Thanks in advance!

post-778-14196744211661_thumb.jpg

post-778-14196744213101_thumb.jpg

post-778-14196744214327_thumb.jpg

post-778-14196744215195_thumb.jpg

I haven't had a chance to compare the mei or workmanship yet, but I found an excellent article on Naokatsu in an old online NCJSC newsletter here: http://www.ncjsc.org/ncjsc-oct-2001.pdf

(There are also some excellent articles on other subjects there)

I wonder how many of these old NCJSC newsletters are online?

Brian

Hi,

My guess for the mei:

Shoji Jiro Taro Fujiwara Naokatsu

EDIT/

Oups, I've not seen you have already translated the signature, however some thing seems wrong to my eyes, the location, on all oshigatas i've seen, the mei is inscribed onto the ura for the katana.

Stephen,