5 Tsuba's

Wigsplitter

Hello,

My name is Matt and I have aquired 5 Tsubas and was hoping for help identidying age and any maker info. I am just starting out in collecting Tsubas. I know a few of these are fairly rough, but still antique pieces. Thank you far any help you may have

#1 53.25mm x 45.32mm & 4,15mm thick

#2 70.56mm across & 4.18 thick

#3 67.78mm across & 3.57mm thick.

#4 55.58mm x 51.44 & 3.91mm thick (almost looks cast, not sure if its authentic)

#5 60.67mm across & 3.49mm thick

IMG_7970.jpg

IMG_7971.jpg

IMG_7979.jpg

IMG_7978.jpg

IMG_7977.jpg

IMG_7976.jpg

IMG_7975.jpg

IMG_7974.jpg

IMG_7973.jpg

IMG_7972.jpg

Hi Matt,

I also wonder about #4 but even if it is right it still is very low quality.  The rest are most likely mid to latest Edo generic tsuba except for 5 which was Heianjo zogan.  #1 has a bit of charm and the rest are ho hum with #5 being close to toast condition.

I think you'll get significantly more joy out of collecting tsuba if you set your sights a bit higher.  It could be that if you had taken what you spent for the 5 and put it into one you'd have a piece that pleases you more than the 5 do.  Try some study: online, good books, and in hand at shows or with other collectors, before you buy tsuba.  The more you educate yourself the happier you'll be with your purchases.

Meaning no offense; just my thoughts.

Grey

• Like 1

Thank you Grey. I am yet to put any significant money down for a Tsuba, I paid $70 for #1 and $30 each for the others. I considered it a good chance to get familiar with different Tsuba styles. I have some books on the way, The ones I currently have only talk about Tsuba's in a very general sense. I needed some that are specifically focused on Tsuba's.

Matt

Matt,

I'm not sure who made the first one - there's a number of edo groups that made pieces like that (and I don't study them so much...).