My First Menpo

javier

Hi

I have just bought this Menpo in the San Francisco Token Kai. I really like it, I am not an expert in this field so any additional information will be highly regarded.

From previous posts my understanding is that this piece is a quite common Nara ressei men (fierce expression) menpo.

In particular I would like to know about the period of this piece and if any particular maintenance is required. Also would like to learn about proper care recomendations in order to be able to enjoy this piece for many years to come. Any other information will be appreciated.

Javier

post-2505-0-96816800-1471231186_thumb.jpeg

post-2505-0-79724400-1471231215_thumb.jpeg

post-2505-0-91269000-1471231239_thumb.jpeg

post-2505-0-22211400-1471231260_thumb.jpeg

post-2505-0-47469600-1471231280_thumb.jpeg

• Like 2

Hi Javier,

nice "Nara" ressei men from the Edo period. "Haruta" school, as you probably know.

Keep it away from direct light (except LED) and try to hold humidity between 45-60% (without extreme temperature jumps).

Enjoy!

Uwe

Hi Javier,

nice "Nara" ressei men from the Edo period. "Haruta" school, as you probably know.

Keep it away from direct light (except LED) and try to hold humidity between 45-60% (without extreme temperature jumps).

Enjoy!

Uwe

Uwe, maybe you can explain to Javier why this is considered to be "Haruta" I

have just bought this Menpo in the San Francisco Token Kai. I really like it, I am not an expert in this field so any additional information will be highly regarded.

The yodare kake (throat guard) appears to be nerigawa (rawhide) as it has shiki-gane (strengthening rods) that are laced to the back of Japanese nerigawa armor items.

6dd3235a38818dfb3789ceb56048b6ba.jpg

Hi Uwe,