Enfield Like Japanese Gun

Hi to all,

I have been reading the topics on Japanese guns on this board for some time now and have found good information from the very knowledgeable people on this board.

I am a novice but have a keen interest in Japanese guns.

Recently I bought a Japanese Enfield like gun at an auction that is very elaborately inlaid, barrel as wel as stock, with different materials, probably copper, brass and mixtures of these?

The sights are similar to those on matchlocks. The front sight is missing the silver insert, but that is an easy repair. The backsight has the simple block-form.

I have searched the internet for similar guns but found nothing so far.

Can anyone shed some light on this gun?

Is it possible to translate the the Japanese character (stamp) on the stock?

Any information regarding this gun is very appreciated.

LeoM

post-3608-0-06227300-1470901780_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-15562900-1470901792_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-88881600-1470901803_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-91779700-1470901810_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-99746100-1470901821_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-47648600-1470901829_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-57715100-1470901838_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-57365700-1470901845_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-19641000-1470901853_thumb.jpg

post-3608-0-62949100-1470901863_thumb.jpg

Interesting gun. Gaudy too :)

Can we have a decent pic of the lock? Remains to be seen if it was built as a copy of the Enfield, or if they customized and redid a genuine Enfield. The Japanese were playing with, and copying, anything they came across, so it is not unusual to find these one-offs or experiments. Looks to me to have some genuine parts in it though.

Brian