First Purchase Help?

Hello,

This is my fist post here and I didn't see an Introduction board so, Hello Everyone!

I'm new to collecting and thought I would seek advice from people who I think, are capable of helping!?

This will possibly be the first piece in my starting collection, kind of a starter "project."

I've been reading any and all information I can on Real Japanese Swords, I've been looking on eBay (I know about the FAKE antiques, etc) and I've found one that piqued my interest.

I contacted the seller and requested additional photos to help me judge the condition and authenticity of the Katana, I kind of have an idea of what to look for, but not really.. that's where you come in!

I'm not sure about posting links and pics as a new member.. Sorry If I'm not supposed to!

Link to the sword on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/16th-Century-Tsuguhiro-Original-/262554106688?hash=item3d2171bb40:g:94IAAOSwbsBXnMTIor just search eBay U.S. for.. 16th Century Tsuguhiro Original.

What do you all think.. it looks old, but who knows? I've already asked if there was any rust/pits, dents, chips, cracks or bends, he said there was a small chip in the tip area, but it was small. I requested photos of these areas and any Hamon, if present, I'll post them later if possible.

Again, Great to be here.. Thanks for the assistance! Phil B.

I enlarged these and "enhanced" them.. again, awaiting better photos!

post-3782-0-27939700-1470434730_thumb.jpg

post-3782-0-39865300-1470434742_thumb.jpg

No one could judge from those 2 pictures, which is a huge red flag for me, not to mention the battle damage (nice way of saying serious problems).  Save your money and buy books, study, attend shows (Chicago next year and Minneapolis in October: both driving distance for you).  Ebay is a snake pit for a beginner; if you must own a sword buy from a trusted dealer (many active here) and seek good advice.

Grey

• Like 3

Hello,