Wakizashi Signed Hishu Ju Hirosada

Shamsy

Good evening all,

I've had this wakizashi for a few years now but purchased it primarily for the mountings. I've been a little curious about it, but always thought it had a rather 'cheap' feel. I'm under no illusions this is a hidden masterpiece. In fact I'll repeat my feeling this is a cheap and not terribly well made example. However, I'm new to nihonto and I only have one other example to compare it with.

I've been reading and trying to learn the basics, so rather than a 'what is this' post, here is everything I have determined from my own modest attempt at appraisal. I'm sure there will be some mistakes and I'd appreciate correction on these, so I can hopefully avoid them in the future.

A shinogi zukuri wakizashi. The measurements are as follows:

Nagasa -54cm

Sori - 1.5cm

Kasane - 0.5cm

Kissaki - 3cm

Munemachi to tip of nakago is 14.5cm

I'm not set on this assessment, but to me it appears to be koski zori, as the upper portion of the blade appears to be relatively straight. A Ko - kissaki and narrow upper part of the blade. Iorimune with gentle Orosi. The nakago is a standard shape with the nakago iris either kengyo or iriyama-gata maybe. The nakago still displays fairly strong katte sagari file marks.

I really struggle with hada. I don't feel comfortable trying to make an assessment. I really need to see several examples together to recognize the difference and signs to look for. As previously mentioned, I only have two examples to compare. The same goes for other activitiesin the steel. The hamon is hoso-suguha and I think the boshi is ko-maru. The boshi temper line curves back to touch the tip of the ko - shinogi. One side is somewhat obscured by rust patch, but when I look at the other side, the upper part of the boshi curve seems to have... claw mark shapes pulling out of the boshi towards the yokote. I wasn't able to match this to anything I could find.