Discussing dealers

Hi Brian,

I am a new comer and love your message board. There are many knowledgeable people out there and I can get instant feedback. Of course, they are not all experts but I appreciate their time giving me answers.

I have met some collectors who have been taken advantage of or outright cheated. Is it kosher to mention the unscrupulous person by name (i.e., John Smith, Tommy Gunn, Billy Klub, Harry P. Ness, etc.) if I have been personally screwed by the person? I think we all would like to know who is screwing who.

A case in point. I went to the Northern California Sword Show last year and bought a beautiful wak from YY. I told him that I was a novice collector, but was most proud of a sword I bought from an Oklahoma dealer. It was a pristine gunto made by XXX. And YY said, "Really?! I had a XXX which I sent to (SOB) and he never paid me for it!

When I returned home, I checked into my file folder and the paperwork related to this sword. I called YYand asked him when he sent his sword to this dealer. He told me the month. And low and behold, it was only a couple of weeks after he sent it, that I boughtit! There was no doubt that the sword he described was the one I had bought from the Mr. SOB

I was extremely angry because I hate to see guys cheated. I told YY that if he plans to go to take this to court, I will write him a check for $1000. My offer still stands.

Now, wouldn't you guys like to know the guy's name? Or can you figure it out. Can the guy sue me if I post his name? Or should I just use his initials?

Are most of you shy about mentioning a crooked dealer's name? I'm sure that if the guy is honest, you'd say so. Perhaps a "NO COMMENT!!!"

would tell me alot without getting us in trouble?

HENRY

Henry,

That is a very difficult question to answer for obvious reasons.

This forum has never steered clear of controversy and takes the view that if there is fraud or underhanded dealings going on, they need to be exposed.