Any help on these wakizashi fittings?

Robert C. Walker

I just received a wakizashi that I am trying to find out more information on. Here are photos of its tsuba as well as its fuchi kashira. The fuchi kashira shows layering that I am told suggests Guri-Bori but I am new to the details of nihonto. I am interested in anything that anybody might have to say about it.

post-557-14196741388286_thumb.jpg

post-557-14196741391945_thumb.jpg

post-557-14196741395365_thumb.jpg

Guri-Bori fittings usually command a " high " market price ( hate to talk $ ) but...........the association of " valuable " f/k makes one not to " dismiss " the tsuba so easily ( assuming the tsuba has not been switched ).

Stand alone, some collectors may poo poo the tsuba to Yokohama dock special.

I think the details on the figures are quite fine, even though the color/patina of the plate is not ideal........

Pete? Curran ? ideas ?

Forget Trickie Turner, he's an old iron guy......... :badgrin:

milt the roninj

Wow..I am intrigued.

For a fittings novice, can someone explain the layering effect inside the carvings? Does this indicate patination, or a layering of the various alloys used in construction?

Brian

Edit to add: I see the question has been answered by our own Gabriel Lebec when commenting on this same sword here: http://www.myarmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?p=114590

I also found this: http://www.silversmithing.com/1mokume.htm