Goto Ichijo Tsuba Opinion Wanted

Timur

Hello, 

I am a novice on your respectful Forum Board, please don't judge too harshly. 

Originally placed this in Goto Ichijo thread but was friendly told not to expect a reply in 5 year old thread  :o So start a new one...

Was offered this tsuba by (?) Goto Ichijo. The seller is asking for quite a bit. Would appreciate your expert opinion if it looks genuine for you? 

post-3360-0-33399100-1439419637_thumb.jpg

post-3360-0-79501600-1439419640_thumb.jpg

post-3360-0-41249900-1439419643_thumb.jpg

post-3360-0-35154900-1439419648_thumb.jpg

I readily bow to the expertise of those NMB members much more knowledgeable than I, but love your tsuba. My only question would be the brightness of the plate, and wonder about its patination; or is this just the excessive light reflection in your photograph?

John L.

• Like 3

Thank you, John,

It's not mine yet. The seller says it is of copper mixed with a quarter of silver and gold. 7,6 x 7,1 x 0,4 cm

Still not sure by the photos if it is genuine and can be attributed to Goto Ichijo. The price is genuine for sure!

Any thoughts?

Timur; my thought is that the alloy the tsuba is made of is called Shibuichi. More than that, I don't know much, except to say that I like it too, though my degree of liking might be influenced by the price.

[edit to add another thought: There appears to be some wear to the surface patina, evident at lower left of your pic where the reddish copper colour is showing through. and this leads again to the thought of the price, but maybe it's just an artifact of the lighting]

This is my mantra:  BIG name + BIG price - but - no modern NBTHK paper = no sale.  If it was genuine, the seller would have had it papered as proof of legitimacy.   As it is not papered, the seller has no back up on the mei.  Tough words I know but they may very well save you a bundle, especially since you have admitted you have little experience.