Calling Kongobei school sword owners!

Do you have a Kongobei school sword, and are good with a camera? I am offering a chance to help us with our project, and help NMB (see below). You will also have the opportunity to have your sword published, with acknowledgements, which certainly adds to accumulated provenance of your sword.

I have been researching Kongobei swords for a couple of years, and am co-authoring a book on the subject. While the project started out as a compilation of every scrap of printed information in English and Japanese, it turned into a correlation of the information revealing new facts, insights and genealogies. Because the charts, graphics and lists are new, I would very much like to include fresh illustrations of swords, rather than the usual handful of fuzzy photocopies we usually see. We already have some fresh pictures including two 1st generation Moritaka tachi, but would like another 8 or 10 to make this really something. They may even further illustrate the surprising role that Kongobei played in the development of the Japanese sword after the first Mongol invasion. In the unlikely event you have the original koshirae, we would like some photos of that as well. Your own very thorough description of the blade would be helpful as well.

Therefore, for each set of useable photo files, I will donate $25US to support the NMB in the contributors name.

The blade need not be papered, but that is preferred. If you are not sure what generation your blade is attributed to, just send a photo of the paper with the other files, or we will try to identify it ourselves. I would like to complete this effort sometime soon, so I would say you have until the end of February before we must finalize that chapter. As there are 95 Koto Kongobei smiths, we are not too particular as to period, but late Kamakura and Nambokucho blades are of special interest.