A question about oiling the blade

Drago

Hi,

well, I'm still a noob, so I usually follow a sword care guide to the letter (NBTHK or Nakahara-san's from "Facts and Fundamentals of Japanese Swords") . But there is one thing I don't really get.

So I clean the blade and then apply the oil. But then they ask me to wipe the blade down again to remove excess oil with a new piece of cloth. But doesn't that mean effectively removing the oil? Why oil it in the first place? Or how do I wipe it down without removing everything?

(I know there is a discussion "to oil or not to", but since this place can get humid sometimes I think oiling would be better.)

:thanks:

@Chris:

I see. Thanks.

@Mariusz:

Your question made me wonder so I checked about "to uchiko or not". So far I have always used it, but not that much I think. Then again, I only cleaned my blade three times since I got it (once every half year). Guess I'll use it less.

So there should be no

little droplets of oil left once you have wiped it for the last time correct ?

Correct. There only needs to be a very thin film of oil to keep oxygen and moisture away. Where there are visible pits, if any, I would treat those first and separately by making certain oil gets into them, and then oil the rest of the surface followed by wiping down.

Gentlemen

I know we have had this discussion before, but I am somewhat surprised to see the strong anti uchiko statements here. I have used uchiko for over 40 years and never had a problem with it. It is sometimes necessary on newly polished blades for example, when the hadori may be hiding some of the hataraki in the hamon and providing it is

a) Good quality uchiko

b) Applied correctly